Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should there be exemptions for those that hold a FD when going for superior COC's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should there be exemptions for those that hold a FD when going for superior COC's

Just to get the thoughts of some of the other senior guys on this? Personally I don't think it should be the case, the Class 2 written's were the most challenging exams I have undertaken and as a consequence I feel that I was a better Senior Officer because of it.

depends what you want exemptions from, accademic studies / subjects? Then cant see why not certainly at Seconds level if not Chiefs, but not the professional subjects, the HND has been like this for time in memorial.

The better debate is the value of the FD at all, given it has to be topped up into a full degree to be really truely "worth" anything (for any given value of worth)

It's a hobby horse of mine and comes from seeing the inflation of grades / degredation of exams, way back when (just 2 decades ago) the terribly brigt did degrees (lawyers, doctors etc) the not so did HND's and the likes, and everyone else did city and guilds or other bits and bobs, there was (is) always a chance to upgrade over time, but now it seems even a haridresser NEEDS a degree or a FD in Hair (I guess) and Plumbers, and builder and dental assistants too......why? Is my leaky tap repair more complex than before? Is the door I require hanging better hung because he has a degree? Can he quote Neitcher at me as he changes the washer? Are the rules so complex for gas fitting only a degree student can under stand them? I think not

It's all part of the big education con...no one looses, there are no winners or loosers....non competitive sports days, no no no.....you win or you loose in life as in scholl, everyone gets a gold star for remembering to walk AND talk at the same time!!!

Grrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!
    Trust me I'm a Chief.