Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reality Check

Hello Officers & Cadets,

So I'm an Officer Cadet's old man with minimal knowledge of the Merchant Navy. Jnr is an aspiring Deck Officer going along the FD / PD route with sponsorship from Zodiac (new start).

Having read many threads about sponsorship (inc Zodiac) Tonnage Tax & the difficulties faced by Cadets to obtain employment with their sponsoring companies or any company for that matter and qualified Officers not getting a look in because they're a Brit , I have to ask:-

Is the Cadetship just a money making exercise for the stakeholders with little chance of the cadets getting onto the first rung of the career ladder ?

Have industry opportunities improved for British Officers, if it's still bad do you see this as temporary; getting better or worse ?

Do Zodiac take any Cadets on - rough % ?

Do many companies take on cadets outwith their own sponsorship program ?

Do shipping companies employ permies or use contractors in the main ?

Is promotion harder for Brits due to less sea time ?

Thanks in advance, I know these questions are answered on various other threads but I would really like an up to date reality check.

Cheers

Firstly: All companies that take on UK cadets (with exception of RFA) are doing it to meet their "tonnage tax" requirements with regards to their UK assets/side of their operation.

s the Cadetship just a money-making exercise for the stakeholders with little chance of the cadets getting onto the first rung of the career ladder?