Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Job Hunt

So, very vague queries here...

I'm a newly qualified Deck officer - or at least I qualified and haven't been to sea... It was half a year ago or so. I actually worked ashore for a bit but want to get back to sea. In terms of CV - I think I'm ok but if someone wants to have a look it would be appreciated!

I've been struggling a bit with finding opportunities which I understand is hardly a new issue! I've applied to any job adverts currently up, and sent speculative applications to 20 or so companies but nothing back sadly. I haven't really been chasing them up (this weeks job) but really not having much success - usually just no replies! One thing that is particularly annoying is that there appear to be more adverts for Cadets (praising the job prospects when qualified) but- then as far as I can find - no job openings for NQOs! Irritating but just the way it is I suppose.

So I'm really looking for some advice. What is the best way to go about 'pursuing' a job when they aren't advertised? Are there particular companies that anyone knows to be recruiting now or in the near future? Is it worth self-funding courses such as DP etc?

Any pointers appreciated!