Announcement

Collapse

SITE UPGRADE

We've just performed a major upgrade to the forum software. You may have noticed things look a bit different!

Please note that some features have yet to be reinstated, this will be done over the next few days. Attachments, pictures and signatures may not function as they should for the time being.

Thanks for your patience!
See more
See less

Jobs for newly qualified Officers.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jobs for newly qualified Officers.

Does anybody know of any tanker companies taking on newly qualified officers with no previous contracts as an officer.

Tanker jobs for non-DCE holders seem a bit of a rarity, although BP occasionally go in recruitment drives. Teekay may do the same, and the RFA - however they aren't recruiting right now.

Try James Fisher, Pritchard Gordon, even Whitaker to get your DCE.

Hope you find someone!

Comment

I'm a former Trinity House Cadet I have my BSc in Nautical Science with a faculty scholar award for my sea time and final academic semester, and the best bachelor degree student in the college award, I also have my endorsements for oil and chemical.

I had an in with Teekay and have a technical interview with them next week, but even so they're only really looking people with LNG experience and endorsements I must have just got lucky. They recruited last November.

BP are of no help they want officers with at least 6 Months of experience, as officers on a tanker. I had an in with a captain, but they told me to come back with the experience.

RFA don't want you unless you have your Chief Mates / Masters.

Pritchard Gordon tell you they're expanding their fleet but don't need anyone yet. That was nearly 12 months ago contacted them again never heard back.

I haven't tried James Fisher, or Whitaker so have no experience with them.

I also have friends in Shell and Chevron and neither company is recruiting.