Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hiii

Hi guys

My name is David Almeida Martin and i'm from the Canary Island in Spain and i?m studying for deck department , I embark in January and i?m looking something out of Spain, but it seems difficult because i haven?t got the UK nationality (all what i found ask me it) , in July-August i will try to pass the Marlins English Test (including VOSE). My questions are: do you know any sponsor that accept a future spanish deck cadet? Have i any opportunity to embark by my own at non-spanish vessels? (for example UK vessels) and if one of those are yes, how i do it?

Thanks in advance , David

Hello and welcome, I'm also a newbie here.

I'm pretty sure that you have to be a British citizen to take advantage of the sponsorship scheme we have here in the UK. When you finish your studies will you be a qualified officer? Or are you studying at the moment in the hope of becoming a deck officer?

Comment

Hello McBoo, i?m studying a University degree, in Spain the things are different than the UK, first we have 2 years and half of the third of theory (mathematics, physics, chemistry, nautical charts...), then we must looking for own embark for complete the age of deck cadet and be a second officer (or third if the company designate you). I?m completing the second year and i?m planning right now find my own embark. I don?t like the spanish plan but there is no option.

Comment

Welcome to Officercadet.com

Which island are you from? I know that on Lanzarote there are many informal language exchange programs which will help with your English language skills.

I think it will be difficult to find UK based companies who will employ Spanish cadets as they get big tax incentives to employ British caaets, maybe some of the big international cruise companies could help?

Bienvenido a Officercadet. com

?De qu? isla eres? S? que en Lanzarote hay muchos intercambios de que te ayudar? con su ingl?s.