Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey :)

Hey guys!

This is my first post here on the forum. My name's Matt, I'm 17 and come from the North West of England. I am an aspiring Deck officer.

The situation for me so far is that I am currently an A-Level student at my local grammar school, studying Biology, Chemistry, Geography and RS (as well as General Studies, but meh). I volunteer at my local RNLI Lifeboat (my father being on the crew for 5 years now), currently as Shore crew, but my medical for boat crew is next Thursday. So fingers crossed all is good!

I have also decided that I wish to apply of to The University of Plymouth to study the BSc (Hons) Marine Studies (Merchant Shipping), and hopefully the MSc International Shipping later on in life. I have applied to Maersk for sponsorship for the BSC and I am waiting for an interview later this year or early next year for the 2011 intake. I have also applied to SSTG for sponsorship by CMA CGM for the degree sponsorship and anyone who has any information on what it is like to be a British Deck cadet with them, please let me know!

I am also looking at booking my ENG1 medical for sometime during the summer, so I can get it out of the way before starting my degree in enough time in case there are any problems that I may need to sort out.

I'm looking forward to chatting with you all!

Kind regards,
    Matt

Re: Hey

I've applied for the same, should I not pass AIB for the RFA. I applied through SSTG for the CMA CGM sponsorship?!? I've had a first interview with SSTG and then I was contacted about a seconds interview with cma cgm themselves yesterday, but unfortunately I have an exam that day. Just have to see if it can be re-arranged or not.

Comment

Hey Schancky!!!

Hope it works out for you mate, it's a great job

To boldly go.....
      Forum Administrator
      OfficerCadet.com

Comment

Hello and welcome!

How did you find us?
        sigpic