Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi from a Marine Pilot - studied at Warsash

Hi all

Im presently a Marine Pilot at a major port in Australia, I grew up in the south of England and studied at Warsash with Trininty House and then spent over a decade with P&O Princess Cruises before moving to Oz to be a Shore Side company Safety Manager and then being a Pilot.

I hope to be able to offer some guidance from my years on Cargos (under trininty house) / Cruise (P&O / Princess etc) / Shore Safety side (as fleet Safety Manager) and finally in my present role as a Pilot.

I still remember all the questions I had at each stage of my career - Cadet to 3/0 to 2/0 to S2/0 to 1/0 etc etc!

Cheers

Chris
    Pilotage - It's just a controlled allision

Hi,

Welcome to the Forum.

Comment

Hello, welcome and chuck a few shrimps on the barbie....
      I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.....

All posts here represent my own opinion and not that of my employer.

Comment

Hello Pilot, would you like a coffee?

I have a few questions please if you have the time:

What were the entry requirements to become a pilot i.e. just a masters ticket or some years experience as master?
        How long and what was the training like?
        Did you do the training before you applied for a job or does the job put you through/pay for your training?
        Is the pay comparable to master?
        Did you ever get seasick in the wee pilot boat?
        Do captains always heed your advice? Is it a stressful job?
        What is your work pattern, like shifts or something or week on week off, etc?

Cheers

Comment

Thanks guys

Dingo- Normally master class 1 and ship handling experienece.

Training is normally a couple of years, you go under supervision from 100m to 150m to 200m etc and have to do a certain amount of trips in to each berth, at each stage of the tide, day and night.