Ahoy from NI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ahoy from NI

Hello folks, just thought I’d introduce myself here. I’m an aspiring deck cadet officer from NI. Currently 19 and have previously applied for the RFA. After not making it through the SIFT I have decided that I still want to pursue a career in the merchant navy!

I’ve done some research on courses/cadetships etc and have been lurking this forum as well as navynet for a while. Clyde Maritime recently turned me down as well due to course numbers so I’m really figuring out my next move from here. I’ve seen a lot of negatives on these forums and few positives but I’m hoping to see more positives when things start to pick up again, I have to say, I was surprised to see there was such a struggle for maritime jobs, especially during the pandemic but it makes sense to me now.

If anyone has any advice on what to do next after being turned down from academies etc it is more than welcome.

Cheers!

Some places do an 'access to the merchant navy' course, doing that could be one way of getting in.

The job market is really bad for people doing deck, you would probably have a better chance of work if you did the engineering or eto cadetships, the job market is said to be better for them.

Comment

I echo the above sentiment. Deck jobs have been scarce for a while (at least since pre 2015), covid has only exacerbated things.

If you do comprehensive research on the British Deck Officer job market you’ll see there is not much about.

Example in point:
      https://www.clyderecruit.com/jobs/rank/deck-officer/

Two jobs for British 2nd Officers at the moment. One requires a Chief Mates license (rare to see even this come up) and the other is temporary for summer at the moment. Take into account the number of currently unemployed newly qualified Officers, and experienced unemployed Officers and the ratio of jobs to Officers is ludicrous.