Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transmission: .... . .-.. .-.. ---!

Hello everyone!

I'm currently a sixth form student living in East Devon, studying History, Politics and Religion Philosophy and Ethics.

The Naval theme has been something that goes back several generations in my family on either side (father was a shipwright at Plymouth, Uncle was in the Merchant Navy himself and my Grandad was a Comms Officer in the RN) but I'd never really looked at a maritime career before now. I don't quite know why myself but it just hadn't crossed my mind. Instead I was directed (thanks in part to my school and my parents) to go the more academic route for a career through University. Uni is looking less and less attractive by the month, but the Merchant Navy has inspired an interest within me that I never knew I had.

I'm hoping to apply (through SSTG, Clyde Marine Training etc) for a Cadet(ship?) starting Sept 2011. I have a lot of work ahead of me in terms of Sixth Form College and building up Maritime knowledge as well as getting my head around the various aspects of becoming a MN Officer so I fear a fair few questions may be launched from my account onto the forums (soz ).

So I say hello to you all and I hope I don't bug you too much with my mountain of questions to come

Re: Transmission: .... . .-.. .-.. ---!

Removed
    I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.....

All posts here represent my own opinion and not that of my employer.

Comment

Well it's Religion, Philosophy and Ethics as one subject. I chose it as I liked the subject and it's something which I quite like to discuss and debate about through various means. I know it's not everyones cuppa tea and of course it has little bearing in the naval sense but each to their own.

Comment

Originally posted by GuinnessMan
        They do A-Levels in Ethics? Religious Philosophy?
        They do degrees in them too!