Announcement

Collapse

SITE UPGRADE

We've just performed a major upgrade to the forum software. You may have noticed things look a bit different!

Please note that some features have yet to be reinstated, this will be done over the next few days. Attachments, pictures and signatures may not function as they should for the time being.

Thanks for your patience!
See more
See less

Regarding Sponsorship *HELP*

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Regarding Sponsorship *HELP*

Hi guys,

My name is Aamir, I am currently studying FdSc Navigation Maritime Science at Plymouth University in United Kingdom. I was previously sponsored by SSTG one of the sponsoring/training companies and was doing FdEng Marine Engineering at Warsash Maritime Academy, however, things did not work out for me and I changed my career to Deck.

I am finding it very difficult to find sponsorship, and not recieving convincing replies from sponsoring companies as they are not willing to take me on. I am in my 2nd year well final year at Plymouth University and as per my course I really need 12 months of sea time to meet the MCA requirements,

I am really unsure what to do, I have literally been everywhere, contacting via email and phone but can't seem to get sponsored or even willing to have me for an interview, due to smart funding. I also asked the sponsoring companies whether I could pay for sea time myself but have not received a straight answer.

I have contacted smart funding, and they've told me I still have 12months of smart funding left from the 18months in total. I obviously had used the 6 months funding during my previous course at Warsash for Marine Engineering. However, when I contacted smart funding they told me I have 55 installments left, so 12months sea time could be completed easily.

I have joined this website/forum as it seems really helpful and everyone here seem very genuine and are very keen to help.