X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would you recommend ?

Hey,

I'm interested in the merchant navy but have a few questions to ask, I hope you guys don't mind answering a total noob. Firstly, I'm sick of college, although I really enjoy learning and am predicted good results at AS I don't see the point in pursuing this because after the open day at Fleetwood I realized I could get good qualifications and a career doing something which looks pretty cool.. My results were

1 A (English Lit) 5 B's (Maths, History, Science, German, English Language) 2 C's (Geography, ICT) 1 D (Further Science (But a C in the physics part of further science)) and an E In RE...

Are these results good enough to get on a HND course ? My prefered company (atm) is BP I have been looking at the career progression and how you can top your HND with a full blown degree later on, plus they seem to have a good package. I have also been looking at cruise liners as I would like to travel around. My preference is the engineering route, so would someone please tell me if they think I can get sponsored ? Also im worried that I don't know enough about the merchant navy to get through the interviews so would people please tell me what I should know and how to approach the interviews if I get offered one ?

Re: Would you recommend ?

Step one.....apply, just get the application in, it may be a little late for this September but some might be interested, so dont be surprised if you dont get an offer for next year.

Step two....read around here, use the mighty google etc and you'll be fine, there are plenty who start off comming to sea with no idea and with out a family history of being at sea