Obtaining cadetship as 30yo+ qualified engineer

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Obtaining cadetship as 30yo+ qualified engineer

Hi all,

Felt more comfortable posting this in the anonymous section, I'm a qualified mechanical engineer (four year degree Dipl.-Ing. or MEng depending on country) have experience in piping, steel construction and plant equipment working in heavy industry but no particular experience in marine industry or O&G, in my early 30's with a burning desire to be more active and to be getting my hands dirty at sea. Have been researching ship propulsion equipment and self teaching welding/machining to hopefully give myself further advantage.

Looking to apply for a marine engineering cadetship on tankers or other offshore O&G vessels (semi-subs, AHTS etc) however I have three questions I would really like some answers to.

1) My primary concern is age, would shipping companies take any look at me or could I be dismissed simply for my age?

2) From my understanding a MEng is far more comprehensive in theory and maths but lacks the workshop training provided by the marine courses. How much of an advantage would my degree and experience be... and could it be enough leverage in an application to overcome the age issue?

3) I have savings so a pay cut from current salary for cadet program is not a problem for me but would companies be hesitant to hire me based on a perceived high salary history?

Hi there, I am aware of several people who have started a cadetship over the age of 30 so I highly doubt this would put a company off. I think due to diversity reasons companies are more likely to take you on now than ever before too. You clearly have the academic requirements so I think if you show your interest in the application process there would be no reason why not. I think having any sort of degree, especially yours, will be an advantage when doing a cadetship.

Comment