Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Negativity surrounding the MN, Career path dilemma

Greetings fellow sea-monkeys!

To make this short and sweet, I've been offered sponsorship's for next September from some well established companies (for the sake of this, we shall call one of them "chell"). I'm currently studying a foundation year at Plymouth university and now have the dilemma of what to do, as I could continue with my studies or join the MN. Which brings me to my other point, the negativity on MN forums is crazy! I had my heart set on becoming a deck officer for quite a while, and by just looking at the number of people saying (not specifically from this site) how there are no jobs out there, the pay is terrible, no paid leave, you don't really get to see much during your travels, its stressful etc. The list goes on really. I fancied the idea of not having a massive student debt, potential job and to travel the world and only work for half the year... plus the fact that I love being at sea.

I've got a number of close friends and relatives in both the RN and MN, all who speak highly of their jobs; so why is it I feel like its not all its cracked up to be?

What I'm looking for here is advice; can anyone that can speak highly of their career choice and the lifestyle its given you? What is the typical pay and work hours for offshore work?
    What do you do with your time off? As I understand, many MN officers only work for half the year (or so its claimed). Are you able to survive off your salary? Is this an industry where working for the "top companies" is amazing, and working for the smaller ones is tougher and not so rewarding?

Would be great to hear what the life is like from people that aren't so depressive.

Oh, and are there any pro's and con's between deck and engineer? I hear there are more jobs out there for engineers..

Cheers,

Tj