Modernising the Merchant Navy Industry

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Modernising the Merchant Navy Industry

I'm rather new to the industry and from what i've observed so far it's been a mixture. I find on one hand the industry has great plus's like the option to travel far and work with a variety of people from all across the world. While the work in itself is interesting and challenging on a daily basis.

Though this is all fantastic I do find the industry lacks ingenuity and development of ideas. There is still a very old feeling that 'Well this is how I was taught and this is how it should be done' attitude which I feel needs to be challenged. I understand hierarchy and the importance of chain of command but that should not be allowed to cripple the innovation of the youth and new ideas coming through. I found myself on a cargo ship for part of my sea phase and during that time the personnel on board were limited to a maximum of 60mb of internet data per month. This is 2018 for christ sake. There are ships who can supply internet to all crew comfortably so why was this ship any different. I believe the industry unions need to challenge the companies and ensure adequate means for communication back home is available to crew. This would keep people reassured and helps massively with ship moral. The chief's and captains that I speak to give the typical dinosaur answer of 'Well it wasn't available in my day'. If we all thought like that we'd never progress and develop as a species. The rotations of crew need looked at also. With technology improving and further advances with low cost travel there's no reason why staff cannot be more frequently rotated. 'In my day' great you did 9 months at a time but you also fail to mention the lack of low cost flights during that time. I believe that as technology advances so should the living standards and care of crew.