Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mental Challenges?

Hello All,

I am an aerospace student in my final year and wanting to join the merchant navy after I graduate. The more I read about the life of an engineering officer, the more it just seems for me! There's one thing I haven't really come across in my research though and I was wondering if someone here could please be of assistance

As can be imagined my course is quite maths heavy at times, a component of it I quite enjoy My question is, could anybody please describe some of the typical things on-board that you may find challenging in a more mental kind of way? Not limited to maths just the things that require a bit of thinking, I'm sure there's lots but I've not come across many specific examples! Ready for a hard life at sea but wouldn't mind the chance to stretch my brain every now and then

Many Thanks,
    Dave

All marine engineering problems can be solved with a pair of lace panties and a sledge hammer. Isn't that right Chiefy?
    io parlo morse

Comment

Going on past experience, lube oil and fuel consumption calculations seems to be higher maths for some....
      I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.....

All posts here represent my own opinion and not that of my employer.

Comment

Originally posted by GuinnessMan View Post
        Going on past experience, lube oil and fuel consumption calculations seems to be higher maths for some....
        And as for making sure that the numbers in the big green book of lies all add up.....
        Go out, do stuff

Comment

We make tax accountants look like planks
          Trust me I'm a Chief.

Views expressed by me are mine and mine alone.
          Yes I work for the big blue canoe company.
          No I do not report things from here to them as they are quite able to come and read this stuff for themselves.

Twitter:- @DeeChief

Comment