Engineering on North Sea Supply Vessel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engineering on North Sea Supply Vessel

TO THE MOD - I wanted to register and post this in the engineering section but I'm at sea and having trouble logging into my Hotmail. I'm stuck in an endless cycle of verification due to "unusual activity". I gave up and posted here.

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me with a question regarding engineering duties on board a supply or standby vessel which primarily worked in the North Sea.

I am currently a fourth engineer working on board deep sea going oil tankers. Although I enjoy the work I sometimes question how long I will be able to hack the long trips. The shorter trips in the offshore sector appeal to me but I would like more information on day to day jobs before I were to ?jump ship?.

In order to give an idea of what life is like for me at the moment I will give you a brief outline of the kind of equipment/jobs that keeps me busy.

Fuel Oil Purifiers
    Lubricating Oil Purifiers
    Fresh water generator
    Sewage Treatment Plant
    Air compressors
    Various Centrifugal and Screw Pumps
    Bunker transfers and bunker system
    Incinerator (Sludge transfers, sludge burning)
    Bunkering operations
    Paperwork ? ORB, LO inventory, Bunker Reports, Water tests, LO tests.

(Other jobs crop up on a daily basis but these are the main things)

The ship operates UMS so every third day I am the duty engineer so have watch keeping duties. I am pretty confident in my ability to diagnose and repair faults on the above equipment and also strip them down for inspections and overhauls (with the manual nearby). They also usually work when I put them back together again . . .