Essential Knots

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Essential Knots

Seems to be a problem now with officers being unable to tie basic knots, this could be from spending too much time on the bridge than working on deck or from bad training on board. Some are taught on the EDH but I can't remember which ones.

Here are some knots that every deck officer should know. Suggest more if you think I've missed any.

Essential:

Round turn and two half hitch - Many uses throughout a vessel for securing things
    Bowline - Again many uses
    Sheet bend - Used for securing to ropes together also used for flags etc.
    Rolling hitch - Good for securing wires and cargo hoses etc...
    Clove hitch - Many uses, best one for tying rat guards onto rails etc...

Can also be a good idea to use the "slipped" version of some of the above knots to untie them faster.

Not essential:

Granny knot - Using this will make you look like a complete novice

Stokers' dhobi hitch?
    Go out, do stuff

Comment

Animated version on this site there are a few others.
      Learn to tie a bowline one handed useful if you need rescuing and you get a line thrown to you. Love that knot.

http://www.animatedknots.com/indexbo...matedknots.com

Comment

Originally posted by Midge View Post
        Animated version on this site there are a few others.
        Learn to tie a bowline one handed useful if you need rescuing and you get a line thrown to you. Love that knot.

http://www.animatedknots.com/indexbo...matedknots.com
        Used to be able to do it but fell out of practice! We taught it on a sailing course once by towing people a long way behind a rescue boat while they did it... Health and safety didn't appreciate it so much and banned it....

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Comment

Originally posted by Clanky View Post
          Stokers' dhobi hitch?
          Here is the full gammut of engineers knots:

knots.jpg