Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

STC - Accomodation & First Phase (Sep 2014)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• STC - Accomodation & First Phase (Sep 2014)

Hey guys, I'm very very new to this and looking forward to being a part of the forums, but please let me know if I've gone about asking my questions the wrong way or if I should do it differently! cheers.

Anyway I've recently accepted my offer from CMT and sent off my forms etc.
    I'll be starting in Sep 2014 as an engineer cadet at South Tyneside College.
    My preferences are:
    1.Chevron
    2.Odfjell
    3.RCI

I'm going to be using the college accommodation and i'm aware that we pay for it etc. but do I have to get in touch with the college to use the accommodation or will CMT let me know what the script is?

And lastly say we start on the 8th of September how long usually is the first college phase until you start the first sea phase?

thanks guys!
    uk.linkedin.com/in/bjwmcgrath

CMT usually send you a load of paperwork before you start in September, with a Merchant Navy general guidance book and a STC information booklet with that information in. When I was there it was up to us to phone beforehand and reserve a room for the weekend before we started. First initial phase is around about 4 months, with an easing into the world of shipping and basic practical courses to complete (sea survival etc). Depending on your company you may have a gap between finshing the first phase and going to sea, or you may not. Be aware you have to pay a months rent for the halls upfront with a ?200 deposit within the first few days.

I think the going rate is around ?470 a month now there, but don't quote me on that as it was almost ?100 cheaper when I was there a few years ago. P.S. If you can, try and request a room thats not in G block, its the only hall block without recreation rooms on each floor, and was a lot less social than the other blocks.

Comment