Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What next?

Hello!
    I would like to ask You for any advice what can I do next..
    I graduated Maritime University at Navigational Department at Maritime Transport specialization. I obtained Officer in charge of a navigational watch certificate and Bachelor of Engineering degree. I did my seamanship training:

-jointly 3 months on sailing vessel on navigational training
    -2 weeks of maneuvering training on small research vessel
    -1 year on ro-pax vessel (6hrs on deck and 6hrs of watchkeeping on wheelhouse)
    -1 month on the same ro-pax as O/S

Now I continue my education at the same department, at Offshore Technologies which includes basics of oil extraction technologies, stabilities of offshore units and DP Basic course. At this week I am just attending the course so I can sign it in my application.
    I am going to graduate in the end of February of 2013 with Master of Engineering degree, but if I find a job as deck cadet on offshore vessel I can go for 4-5 weeks.

The only job I was offered to was O/S on the same ro-pax I was working. 2/1 months but with practicly no possibility to promote for officer of the watch
    I've been sending well prepared application directly to offshore companies for about a year and the only response I got was "Thank you very much for application!We are terribly sorry we cannot hire you.." . Even when a Deck Cadet job position is available on their site ...
    My question is: what can I do better:
    1) keep pushing offshore companies and try to get there as a deck cadet, (I heard that it's hard to promote on offshore)
    2) try to find a job at ro-ro/ro-pax, promote and then try to get to offshore as cadet,
    3) go for many many months at cargo vessel, promote and then try offshore (my wife is not going to allow that hehe)