BSc Top-Up!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BSc Top-Up!?

I'm currently studying for my FD (deck) and I'm seriously considering completing my top-up to BSc when my studies have finished. I know there are two options (11 weeks and 12 months to complete the project or 12 months at LJMU). I am sponsored by Clyde Marine who will not sponsor my top-up.

I would love to hear from anyone who has completed the courses who can provide me with any information on the following:

1. Funding, how did you fund? Sponsored or not?
    2. Content, what is the content of the courses? Quality of the course?
    3. Employment afterwards, what kind of jobs did you get? Improved probability of employment?
    4. BSc top-up or employment?

Hope someone can help!

Posting in my capacity as ignorant land lubber here, but why would you want to upgrade to BSc which esentially makes you no more qualified to go to sea as an OOW than an FD, or even a HNC/D? You're better off using that year at sea, gaining experience in the job, which as we all know is actually more important than another degree and no experience, and make yourself ?20k better off, not ?20k worse off and lumbering yourself with student loans etc.
    "Crazy like wild wolves threatened by fire, send them all to the bottom of the sea."

Comment

Originally posted by Ducki52 View Post
      Posting in my capacity as ignorant land lubber here, but why would you want to upgrade to BSc which esentially makes you no more qualified to go to sea as an OOW than an FD, or even a HNC/D? You're better off using that year at sea, gaining experience in the job, which as we all know is actually more important than another degree and no experience, and make yourself ?20k better off, not ?20k worse off and lumbering yourself with student loans etc.