Sunglasses and gadgets.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sunglasses and gadgets.....

I'm off to sea soon so I'm in the middle of buying things to take. I'm looking at sunglasses (Oakleys).....I was wondering how highly people would recommend polarised glasses as opposed to normal lenses?

Also, completely differently, does anyone have a Kindle? If so, is it worth getting the 3G version? I've seen on amazon that coverage is almost worldwide (obviously only within range).....or if the 3g isn't worth the extra money when using it at sea?

Re: Sunglasses and gadgets.....

if your deep-sea you wont get any coverage most of the time, unless you can get into your ships network (unlikely). if your coastal it might be a better option, as for sun-glasses, as an engineer i can't comment
    Life at sea is a life for me

Comment

I've got the 3G one, obviously won't work at sea but has an internet browser etc which hopefully will work in port. For the sake of an extra ?40 or whatever it was I thought I might aswell. Haven't taken it away to sea yet though so can't comment on how good the coverage is.

Comment

Oakley Sunnies are the bees knees
        e-book no opinion though remember 3g costs ????? when roaming abroad
        Trust me I'm a Chief.

Views expressed by me are mine and mine alone.
        Yes I work for the big blue canoe company.
        No I do not report things from here to them as they are quite able to come and read this stuff for themselves.

Twitter:- @DeeChief

Comment

Your kindly can hold around 10,000 books on it (or something daft like that). Fill her up before you go and you won't need to add more on whilst you're away.
          I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.....

All posts here represent my own opinion and not that of my employer.

Comment

I have the 3G one and was recently on a North African and Canaries cruise.