working from another country

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• working from another country

Not really sure how to word this, so I apologise in advance if it is difficult to understand.

I would like to move abroad in the future to become a permanent resident of that country, hopefully Australia or Canada. Can I use my British ticket to go and find a job with an Australian company? I think it would be easier to gain a visa etc. if I actually worked with a company from that country rather than just living there and working for a European company for example. I know Australia works on a points based system but am unsure if there is any demand for my skills (I am an engineer). Hopefully someone can make sense of this and give me a few pointers.
    fortune favours the bold

Re: working from another country

If you have accepted a job with an Australian/Canadian outfit then yes it will be easier to firstly gain a residency permit and then a few years down the line perhaps gain citizenship.
    However, a British ticket isn't transferable, as Australia and Canada require you to have Aussie/Canuck tickets for working aboard their ships.
    Since Australia and Canada don't recognise British tickets (blame STCW for that), if you wish to gain an Australian Certificate you'll have to attend an AMSA (Australian MCA) Oral exam, whereupon you'll be granted an Australian certificate. You'll also have to join the Maritime Union of Australia as all Australian shipping is a closed shop - i.e. no union membership = no job.
    Canada is slightly different in that you'll have to do a full set of Transport Canada (Canadian MCA) written exams before you can then sit the Canadian oral exam, and thence gain a Canadian CoC. I'm unsure as to the current Union setup in Canada, but I don't think it's as bad as in Aussie.
    However in both cases the seatime you've accrued (regardless of the flag of ship it was on) is accepted, it's just the academic side that isn't.