Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Research Suggestions?

Hi guys,

As an aspiring Deck Officer I'm looking to purchase a few books to improve my understanding of the role. I've had a browse through some of the bigger online stores but I could only find 1 or 2 books. Anyone have any suggestions - mainly looking for theory, practical and reference books.

Cheers

Hi BiB29

The best place to track down more focused books is at somewhere like warsash nautical bookshop (there are other places) have a look at the deck reading list under professional maritime, the books by seamanship international are quite user friendly.

I would hold off buying too much if you are going to start a course as the college will normally supply you with most of the material you need and anything extra they will tell you what to get.

if you are after general books on being a deck officer then the best bet is to get all your info from forums like this and online.

Cheers

Chris
    Pilotage - It's just a controlled allision

Comment

Originally posted by BiB29 View Post
      Hi guys,

As an aspiring Deck Officer I'm looking to purchase a few books to improve my understanding of the role. I've had a browse through some of the bigger online stores but I could only find 1 or 2 books. Anyone have any suggestions - mainly looking for theory, practical and reference books.

Cheers
      As Pilot Chris said, I think it is a good idea to wait until you start. I find you understand subjects better when people show you how to do it, instead of reading it from a book. I wanted to do the same before I started as a cadet, but when I did I found myself jumping ahead at lectures.

I advise just to wait, but it is up to you.

I am sure I have said this in another post, but these are the book I would recommend looking at:

- Bowditch's American Practical Navigator
      - NAV Basics by Abdul
      - Bridge procedures guide - ICS
      - Bridge Team Management by Swift