Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for an Aspring Cadet

Hi guys,

Im looking to apply for a deck cadet opening in the coming days, however, from what i've read it may appear that my chance of a possible September start are slim - with January 2014 being a more realistic opportunity.

Anyway, what I ask is for advice - hardcore, raw advice!

To make my CV/Application as strong as possible, what experience would you say is useful ? I'm what you call a 'mature student', I tick all the educational boxes but my background is mainly ITS, management and web design based...this doesn't consist of much time spent at sea!

If anyone has any suggestions and advice to gaining good,grounded experience, it will be much appreciated and fully taken onboard (see what I did there)!

since I'm in a rather similar situation I will do my best but no promises...

IMHO the biggest asset "older cadets" can present for themselves is transferable skills you already know you have

management is one
    proven mathematical skills is another, you mentioned web-design... well what about programming?

even without programming skills though, HTML for example is -in a sense- a high-level type programming language of sorts

this is a proven skill for logical thinking and the ability of following procedures!

and so on and so forth... think it through!
    Do or don't, there is no try...

Comment

Cheers for the advice Giorgos - really appreciate it!

What about practical experience - any suggestions for someone who's currently in FT employment and lives in a rural area? I wish to cover every angle if possible but I may be hampered by the logistics?

Also, age... I'm 29, physically fit and everyting works but would my age may be a hinderance to a career with the merchant navy? Any experience of this?
      Last edited by BiB29; 13 June 2013, 01:55 PM. Reason: punctuation

Comment