Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Women at the Helm - New video from IMO

I think this is a good thing.

I've sailed with many female officers, who have always seemed more diligent and dedicated then us men. When I was a 4th Officer, I sailed with a 1st Officer in particular who I learn't a lot from.

Sadly, many women don't remain at sea, they tend to move ashore once a family comes along. In Asia you seem to very rarely see female officers.

"I've sailed with many female officers, who have always seemed more diligent and dedicated then us men."

Thats a generalised statement which I find sexest and offensive.

Many women and men work hard at their jobs, many others make a complete mess of it. Sex is not involved.

Comment

Originally posted by Dosedmonkey View Post
      "I've sailed with many female officers, who have always seemed more diligent and dedicated then us men."

Many women and men work hard at their jobs, many others make a complete mess of it. Sex is not involved.
      Exactly. Women, I'm sure, are as likely to be bad officers as men are. The fact that they have an inny instead of an outy doesn't change anything.

I'd hope more that this film encourages women to become cadets. When the industry's fifty-fifty, we'll be able to disprove sexist arguments. Until then, the biggest problem with the shipping industry is that not enough women apply to be cadets.

Comment

Originally posted by geordie dancer View Post
        Exactly. Women, I'm sure, are as likely to be bad officers as men are. The fact that they have an inny instead of an outy doesn't change anything.

I'd hope more that this film encourages women to become cadets. When the industry's fifty-fifty, we'll be able to disprove sexist arguments. Until then, the biggest problem with the shipping industry is that not enough women apply to be cadets.