Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aspiring Irish Deck Cadet

Hey,

My name is Eoghan, I am new here and have been looking through the forum for a while but have never posted.

Basically I am in my final year of a mechanical engineering degree in Dublin, Ireland and ideally want to end up as a deck officer on a cruise ship. (Well at least start out on cruise ships)

Looking at all the major shipping companies that offer cadetships it seems they all require that you have been resident in the UK for the last 12 months. So my vague plan at the moment is to apply for graduate positions for normal shore based jobs in the UK to get some shore based work experience and after 12 months I will then be able to start applying to carnival and viking and so on.

So I guess my question is does anyone know of any other options to get into the industry available for non UK residents aspiring to be a deck cadet??

I know BP Singapore offer sponsorship to Irish students in the maritime college in cork, but only after the completion of the first year which I would have to fund. Which is not really an option at the moment, sense I have no savings to pay for full college fees and accommodation for a year.

Well thank you for reading this far if you have!

Can I ask, why Deck??

Just that with a degree in Mech Eng, you would get in as an engineer with fewer difficulties, particularly if you dropped the cruise ship requirement! I am not certain exactly how it all works, but I would have thought your degree would exempt you from parts of the normal cadetship (there would be little point in you sitting an HNC/D when you have the full blown degree!!), meaning a faster entry.

Deck side however, you would have to sit the entire course.

Another point worth noting is that in comparison to Engineering, Deck positions are much harder come by.