Maths content for Deck vs Eng

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maths content for Deck vs Eng

Just wondering if anyone could clear up a maths question - don't panic, it's not that sort of question I have been given conflicting info by recruitment staff at several companies about maths requirements for Cadet training. I'm wondering is there greater volume/difficulty of maths content and therefore different entry requirements between the Deck and Engine cadet courses, (I have applied for mostly Foundation Degree so far). My main worry is that I do not have maths or physics A-level - Doh!
    I'm no expert, but I really don't think it should be making that noise...

Re: Maths content for Deck vs Eng

Im not so sure with the FD course, but far as im aware theres no massive diffrence, For the HND a C's were acceptable, sometimes even D's ( in GCSE level ) for entry, but ive heard most companies have upped this to B's, it could be possible to be accepted with the grade below if you had engineering/navigational experience.
    Life at sea is a life for me

Comment

For ETO FD, the maths level is mostly a good pass at GCSE level with some A-Level standard thrown in (polynomial division, partial fractions, binomial series etc). I'm taking the course called Engineering Maths so imagine its the same for the Engine FD guys.

There is no maths entry requirment on my course, and the teacher seems pretty good at teaching the weaker students.

We've also covered simple calculus- I can't remember if that was in GCSE maths.
      Former TH cadet with experience of cruise ships, buoy tenders, research ships and oil tankers

Comment

I entered the FD Engine course with a a C pass at Standard Grade, so my maths was quite a bit behind the standard required for the course. Its a thread that runs through everything you do( thermodynamics, mechanics, ship stabillity ).