Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm Swedish, can I do my cadetship in the UK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm Swedish, can I do my cadetship in the UK?

Heya ladies and gents! (a fond Hello to the individuals falling outside any of those two previously mentioned categories) I hope you are all doing great.

I am new around here, not sure for how long I shall be staying as that depends entirely on the guidance I get from you people.

Now to the matter..
    My name is Bryan, I am an 18-year old student undergoing my last year of Upper Secondary School in Sweden. This is like year 12 of school after which one would normally go to uni here. It has been my dream and ambition for the last years to become a deck officer in the MN working for Carnival.

At this moment I can imagine you all thinking: so what?s the problem? do the training in Sweden and then apply for an opening with Carnival? Nothing to it? But it is not that easy, I want to do the training in the UK.
    For many reasons: Britain being one of the worlds most well-known seafaring nations, being taught and trained by Carnival (assuming I am granted sponsorship) ought to improve my chances in future employment with them, and also the fact that (with a great risk of me sounding like a big wimp and lunatic) I have always felt a certain connection to Britain. Can?t be explained really. Daft I know? it?s just always been closest to my heart and felt like home.

So my issue is, having read the Carnival site I am aware that to be eligible for sponsorship as a non-UK but EU citizen one has to have been permanently resident in the UK for a year. This I have not so I wonder if you by any chance have any advice for me on how to do? I have tried to contact both Warsash and Carnival via mail, unsuccessfully. Are there any exceptions to this requirement?