I'm 48, am I too old?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm 48, am I too old?

Hi, I have just joined the forum and I would like to become an engineering cadet. I am an older cadet and I have done quite a bit of research speaking to training and shipping companies and reading this forum to get a feel for the attitude and prospects towards older cadets. The general feedback so far has been that age shouldn't be a signifcant issue, however I am taking this to another level! I am 48 which is older than any other cadets I have heard about, although I would describe myself as a "young 48" in very good health. The sea and engineering are my passion, I was self taught chief engineer on a couple of 33m private yachts when I was 17 and 18, I loved it and excelled ( and didn't need *any* qualifications then to do it!) I have been working for large corporates in management positions since, which I have never enjoyed.

I would love to hear from any other cadets in their late 30's or 40's or anyone with any experience of how they got on both with the training and more importantly getting a job at the end it, and any other general advice? This is a really big decision for me now and I want to be certain I have as realistic a view as possible.

Re: The mother of all "older cadet" queries

In terms of training, you will have no problems; however, finding a sponsor could be tricky. Many companies are pragmatic and honest about the fact that they take cadets because of the tax benefits-others not.
    I would suggest looking at offshore companies as the crews are often more mature to avoid the discomfort of being mentored by an officer young enough to be your child.

Best of luck, and I hope that you get a break into the career.

Comment