X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bit of a strange one...

Hi all,

My first post here.

I've got an interview with Steve from SSTG next week with a view to sponsorship for a deck cadetship.

I'm a Brit working abroad, well-spoken, well-mannered and professional. 5"10, rugby forward build, great with people. Iron Maiden fan.

Thing is, I'm 38. Is that too old?

I've been in shipping my whole life, I did a BSc in Maritime Business and Maritime Law at Plymouth, did a year at a P&I Club in London, ten years as a shipping analyst for Lloyds Marine Intelligence Unit and OI including a year in Singapore, and have been a credit manager for four bunker suppliers/traders. I now live and work in Dubai and am group credit manager for one of the world's largest marine fuel suppliers/traders. I'm at the top of my field and an acknowledged shipping industry expert. I've done what I want to do ashore and having been divorced and paid off all my personal debt I find myself leaving my current employer and realising that now is the opportunity to go to sea which is what I have always wanted to do. I've made my mistakes, I've grown as a person, lost most of my ego and learned a lot about the world etc.

The reason I want to get into it is not the money - the wages are a pittance compared to what I can and do earn in what I'm doing, and I've seen most of the world already as I've been lucky enough to travel very extensively in my career and personal life so far. So it isn't money, it isn't seeing the world and it isn't chasing this romantic dream of a life at sea as I am aware it isn't romantic at all and is extremely hard work and not in the slightest bit glamourous. If I wanted glamour I'd stay in Dubai!

My questions are:

1 - what is the usual experience of mature cadets? Do they find it more difficult?