Interview whilst waiting to hear back from other companies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interview whilst waiting to hear back from other companies

If I am successful at interview and get offered a position in the Jan 17 intake would there be any implications if I am then offered something better for the Sept 17 intake?

Regards

(I am a graduate engineer looking to obtain EOOW via the alternative route. I have been advised to apply to shipping companies directly as well training companies with the former being the preferred choice due to knowing what company you will work with, improved chances of a job at the end of training and a better wage. The training company has got back to me quickly to offer me an interview.)

Given current date, it's doubtful you will get better offer for September in take if you get a January offer now.
    Trust me I'm a Chief.

Views expressed by me are mine and mine alone.
    Yes I work for the big blue canoe company.
    No I do not report things from here to them as they are quite able to come and read this stuff for themselves.

Twitter:- @DeeChief

Comment

I'm not sure what you mean?

Comment

I think what he means is that it is very early to be offering places for September so you wont know if there is a better offer before you would have to commit to the January start. Most companies will be busy finishing off the jan starts so will then be interviewing after that for September.
        you can take it with a pinch of salt, but i prefer it with a nip of whisky

Comment

If that is the case then that's kind of the point of my question.

What would the implications be if I accepted the first position I was offered and then a better offer comes along which I would rather take? In a regular job it would be quite simple...quit and start the new one. Is that not an option? Deferred entry to Sept 17 to buy me some time perhaps?

Comment