Is there a high turnover among deck officers in the cruise industry?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Is there a high turnover among deck officers in the cruise industry?

Hi all,

I'm just a curious outsider. I am a senior first officer in the airline industry, and got talking to a couple of deck officers on a well-known cruise ship recently. Although different modes of transport, it seems we have quite similar lives in many ways.

Anyway, my question is this. Is there a high turnover among deck officers in the cruise industry? The young officers in question were being very professional, but reading between the lines, they both seemed rather disillusioned with the job.

I wondered whether a decline in Ts & Cs meant dissatisfaction is prevalent among deck officers on the big cruise liners these days? Or perhaps my anecdotal experience is not representative of most.

Deck Officer (CoC: OOW)
    Thanks
    I was Cabin Crew for a time before going to sea. The industries are very similar and attract similar types of people.

I can't speak for cruise ship guys now as I made the move to ferries a few years ago, but I don't think there was any great crisis of morale. People come and go and those who go are often, like me, looking for something that doesn't involve going away for three months at a time. There are plenty of people who love cruise ships. The money's reasonable and the lifestyle good. The work for junior officers is not too taxing.

There hasn't been any major decline in Ts and Cs, just the introduction of a new pay structure for one of the major companies which moves officers through bands based on demonstrated competences.

Without identifying the officers or the ship, what were they disillusioned with? I'm curious.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk